Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award

Deadline: November 5, 2017

The Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award is granted to an undergraduate or graduate poetry student each fall. Poet Mabelle A. Lyon published more than 1,000 poems in commercial and literary magazines and anthologies. She founded the first public library in Goodyear, Arizona and co-founded the Arizona Poetry Society, serving as the first president. After she died, her estate created the Mabelle A. Lyon Poetry Award at ASU to continue her efforts. Lyon’s poems and writings were provided to the English department as an archive for faculty and students.


  • This $200 award is open to MFA students and undergraduate English majors who are seniors.
  • To enter, please submit one poem in hard copy to the Creative Writing Office (LL 172 C) by 5pm on the deadline.
  • Do not include your name on the poem itself.
  • Attach a coversheet with your name, poem title, and contact information.

Previous Recipients:

2016-2017: Jack Geist

2015-2016: Kyle Bassett
2014-2015: Reese Conner
2013-2014: Dorothy Chan

For more information, contact Creative Writing Program Assistant Director, Jennifer Irish at