Department Leadership

The Department of English Leadership Team sets the strategic vision for the administrative and academic facets of the department. The Leadership Team is comprised of the Administrative Committee and the Executive Council which contains the Academic Area Leadership and Administrative Leadership. 

Home / About / Leadership
Krista Ratcliffe
Department Chair, Professor
Ross-Blakley Hall 170E PO Box 871401
Doris Warriner
Associate Chair, Associate Professor

Doris Warriner is a linguistic anthropologist of education who uses ethnographic methods to examine the educational, social, political, economic, and ideological dimensions of immigration and transnationalism.

Ross-Blakley Hall 170D PO Box 871401
Karen Adams
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

Professor Adams research interests are in the study of language in its social and linguistic context. She is the director of English graduate studies.

Ross-Blakley Hall 156 PO Box 871401
Lorinda Liggins
Business Operations Manager
Ross-Blakley Hall 156 PO Box 871401
Linda Sullivan
Assistant Director, Academic Services
Ross-Blakley Hall 170A PO Box 871401
Taylor Corse
Director of Literature, Associate Professor

Corse is an Associate Professor and Director of the LIterature Area in the Department of English at Arizona State University.

Ross-Blakley Hall 165 PO Box 871401
Jessica Early
Director of English Education, Associate Professor

Jessica Early, Associate Professor of English at Arizona State University, is a scholar of English Education and secondary literacy. She is the Director of English Education and the Central Arizona Writing Project at ASU.

Ross-Blakley Hall 163 PO Box 871401
Kathleen Lamp-Fortuno
Director of Writing, Rhetorics and Literacies; Associate Professor

Prof. Lamp's primary research interest is in the history of rhetoric, specifically Roman rhetoric. She is the area director of WRL and the past president of the American Society for the History Rhetoric.

Ross-Blakley Hall 161 PO Box 871401
Aya Matsuda
Director of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Associate Professor

Matsuda is Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics. Her research interests include the use of English as an international language and the pedagogical implications of the global spread of English.

Ross-Blakley Hall 159 PO Box 871401
T. McNally
Director of Creative Writing, Professor

T. M. McNally is the author of six works of fiction. His most recent book, finalist for the Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction, is a collection of stories—"The Gateway."

Ross-Blakley Hall 157 PO Box 871401
Shirley Rose
Director of Writing Programs , Professor

Professor of English and Director of ASU Writing Programs, with a research focus on writing program administration, citation studies, and archival research. Director of the WPA Consultant-Evaluator Service.

Ross-Blakley Hall 154 PO Box 871401
Kevin Sandler
Director of Film and Media Studies, Associate Professor
Ross-Blakley Hall 167 PO Box 871401
Michael Green
Director of Online Programs, Principal Lecturer

Michael Bodhi Green is a Principal Lecturer in Film and Media Studies, where he has been teaching since 2008. He is also the Director of Online Programs for the English Department.

Ross-Blakley Hall 151 PO Box 871401
Christine Holbo
Director of Assessment, Associate Professor

Holbo studies American literature from the age of sentiment to the modernist era.

Ross-Blakley Hall 253 PO Box 871401
Kristen Larue
Director of Communications, Communications Specialist

LaRue-Sandler manages public relations and outreach for the ASU Department of English. Current responsibilities include strategic communications, event publicity and logistics support, and development and alumni relations.

Ross-Blakley Hall 170G PO Box 871401
Ruby Macksoud
Director of Internships, Instructional Professional
Ross-Blakley Hall 129 PO Box 871401
Bruce Matsunaga
Director of Digital Technology, Associate Research Professional

Dr. Matsunaga holds a PhD in English Literature with an emphasis in British Romanticism and Digital Humanities. He is the Director of Digital Technology, Graduate Faculty, and an Academic Professional.

Ross-Blakley Hall 138 PO Box 871401