Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

By Kristen LaRue-Sandler—May 16, 2024

Professors Kyle Jensen and Shirley Jensen pose for the camera. Courtesy photo

On May 3, Writing Programs in the Department of English hosted an event recognizing commitment and excellence among its members. The event took place in Ross-Blakley Hall on the ASU Tempe campus and faculty, staff, students and even family were in attendance.

In addition to announcing teaching awards, Professor Kyle Jensen, director of Writing Programs, unveiled a new honor named for retiring faculty member Professor Shirley Rose. Beginning in 2025, the Shirley K. Rose Distinguished Mentorship Award will be given annually to a faculty member in ASU Writing Programs “whose commitment to mentorship has improved the personal and professional lives of their colleagues.”

The award, which carries a $1,500 stipend, honors Rose’s “career-long investment in the faculty, staff, and students she served.”

Rose leaves ASU after fifteen years here, including in leadership of Writing Programs (2009-2019) and then the university senate (2019-2020). In total, she has been a teacher of writing for fifty years.

Jensen also recognized longtime Writing Programs staff member/scheduling wizard Demetria Baker for her 30 years at ASU, presenting her with a pair of custom Nike sneakers in Baker’s favorite color: purple. (Baker is not retiring just yet, though.)

Finally, the group said goodbye to another Writing Programs fixture: Maurice Barnes, a student assistant who has welcomed visitors with a smiling face to the Writing Programs office in Ross-Blakley Hall for the past three years.

Three cheers for these excellent students, faculty, and staff!

Adelheid Thieme Distinguished Service Award

Career Faculty Teaching Innovation Award

Graduate Student Teaching Innovation Award

Writing Programs Summer Fellowship Grants ($3000)

Courtesy image of Kyle Jensen and Shirley Rose