Home / Student Life / Graduate Experience / Graduate Advising

Graduate Advising

Graduate students should consult the relevant program directors for academic advising. Once a student has chosen a commitee chair, that faculty member becomes the student's chief source of advice.

Sheila Luna, Kira Assad and Jennifer Irish can answer most general questions and are a valuable source of information and advice. You may contact them first when you have an advising question.

If students are unable to see advisors during scheduled office hours, they may email for an appointment. Because of the diverse demands on these advisors, please attend any appointment you schedule. If you have to cancel, contact the advisor in advance.

Sheila Luna, Graduate Program Manager
RBH 125, (480) 965-3194
E-mail: sheila.luna@asu.edu

Kira Assad, Academic Success Specialist, Graduate Programs and Internships
RBH 170, (480) 965-7454
E-mail: kira.assad@asu.edu

Jennifer Irish, Assitant Director, MFA Creative Writing
RBH 152, (480) 727-9130
Email for appointment jennifer.irish@asu.edu

Graduate Advisors - Fall 2018

Karen Adams, Director of Graduate Studies (RBH 156)
Office Hours: TBD
Email for appointment KLAdams@asu.edu

Aaron Baker, MAS, American Media & Popular Culture (RBH 370)
Email for appointment aaron.baker@asu.edu

Sheila Luna, MA English Online (RBH 125)
Email for appointment sheila.luna@asu.edu

Ron Broglio, Literature (RBH 165)
Email for appointment ronald.broglio@asu.edu

Jessica Early, English Education (RBH 163)
Office Hours: TBD
Email for appointment jessica.early@asu.edu

Aya Matsuda, MTESOL/Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (RBH 159)
Email for appointment aya.matsuda@asu.edu

Maureen Goggin, Writing, Rhetorics and Literacies (RBH 224)
Office Hours: TBD
Email for appointment Maureen.Goggin@asu.edu

Claudia Sadowski-Smith, MA Comparative Literature 
Email for appointment claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu

Matt Bell, Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing (RBH 214)
Email for appointment Matthew.D.Bell@asu.edu

Elly van Gelderen, Linguistics Certificate 
Email for appointment ellyvangelderen@asu.edu

Ron Broglio or Gregory Castle, Critcal Theory Certificate 
Email for appointment ronald.broglio@asu.edu or dedalus@asu.edu