Oscar de la Paz reading at the Creative Writing Anniversary Gala on November 17, 2015.

Video: Readings from Creative Writing 30th Anniversary Gala


Kristen LaRue-Sandler

The Creative Writing Anniversary Gala celebrated the 30th anniversary of the Creative Writing Program in the Department of English at Arizona State University.

Hosted by Arizona’s inaugural Poet Laureate, Alberto Ríos, the event featured readings by MFA program alumni Adrienne Celt (MFA 2012) and Oliver de la Paz (MFA 1999), as well as distinguished current and former faculty including poets Peggy Shumaker and Beckian Fritz-Goldberg and fiction writers Tara Ison, Melissa Pritchard, and Matt Bell. Alumni Dan Breazeale (MA 1981) and Dean Stover (BAE 1975; MFA 1986) provided music and presented a jazz poem with piano.

►CWP Gala Readings on YouTube