People

Writing Programs is located on the first floor of Ross-Blakley Hall Feel free to stop by or call the office (480-965-3853). You can also contact members of the administrative team by email.

Writing Program Org Chart

Writing Programs Administrative Team

Shirley K Rose, Ph.D., Professor of English 
Director of Writing Programs, Shirley.Rose@asu.edu

Adelheid Thieme, Ph.D.
Associate Director, thieme@asu.edu

Sarah Snyder
Assistant Director, sesnyder@asu.edu

 

Second-Language Writing Program 

Paul Kei Matsuda, Ph.D., Professor of English
Director of Second Language Writing, pmatsuda@asu.edu

Kevin Kato
Associate Director of Second Language Writing, Khkato@asu.edu

Ryuichi Sato
Assistant Director of Second Language Writing, rch.sato@asu.edu

Tonya Eick
Past Associate Director of Second Language Writing, teik@asu.edu

Professional Writing Program 

Mark Hannah, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator of Professional Writing, Mark.Hannah@asu.edu

Stretch Writing Program 

Karen Dwyer, Ph.D., Lecturer
Co-coordinator of Stretch Writing, Karen.Dwyer@asu.edu

Susan N. Bernstein, Ph.D., Lecturer
Co-coordinator of Stretch Writing,  Susan.N.Bernstein@asu.edu

Administrative Office Staff

Demetria Baker
Writing Programs Manager, dlb@asu.edu

Partnerships 

Writing Centers

ASU Writing Centers are excellent resources for students. As a general rule, students who make a habit of visiting a writing center multiple times a semester have higher retention into their sophomore and junior years. 

ASU Composition Conference 

The ASU Composition Conference is held annually. Presentation Proposals are usually due by mid-January, and the Conference is normally held in the second half of February or first week of March.

Important Dates and Deadlines for 2018 ASU Composition Conference

Conference Date: Saturday, February 24, 2018

Proposals due:  January 16, 2018

Notification of Acceptance: January 30, 2017

Teaching Award Submissions: February 11, 2018

Registration: January 4 - February 17, 2018

Chairing a Session: February 17, 2018

 [[{"attributes":{},"fields":{}}]]

Questions? Please email Dr. Adelheid Thieme: asucompconf2018@gmail.com

 

National Day on Writing at ASU Writing Programs

The National Day on Writing is an initiative of the National Council of Teachers of English, an organization for professionals at all levels, kindergarten through college. NDoW was established “to draw attention to the remarkable variety of writing we engage in, and to help writers from all walks of life recognize how important writing is to their lives.” As part of an effort to make the work of Writing Programs visible to the rest of the campus and beyond, NDoW gives us an occasion to engage the rest of the campus in thinking and talking about writing.

Links

ASU Graduate Scholars of English Association (GSEA)

RSA at ASU

inQuiry

National Gallery of Writing

National Day on Writing

National Conversation on Writing