Graduate Advising

 

Graduate students should consult the relevant program directors for academic advising. Once a student has chosen a commitee chair, that faculty member becomes the student's chief source of advice.

Sheila Luna and Corey Campbell can answer most general questions and are a valuable source of information and advice. You may contact them first when you have an advising question.

If students are unable to see advisors during scheduled office hours, they may email for an appointment. Because of the diverse demands on these advisors, please attend any appointment you schedule. If you have to cancel, contact the advisor in advance.

Sheila Luna, program manager (MA, MAS, MTESOL, PhD)
LL 543B, (480) 965-3194
E-mail: sheila.luna@asu.edu

Corey Campbell, program manager (MFA)
LL 543D, (480) 965-3528
E-mail: corey.campbell@asu.edu

 

Graduate Advisors -  Spring 2014

Ron Broglio, Director of Graduate Studies (LL 546D)
 Please email ronald.broglio@asu.edu  for an appointment.

Aaron Baker, Film and Media Studies (MAS) (LL645)
Monday, Wednesday 2:00 - 4:00 pm
and by appointment aaron.baker@asu.edu

 

Lee Bebout, Literature (PhD literature, MA literature)  (LL 208)
Tuesday and Thursday 12:00 - 1:15 pm
and by appointment lee.bebout@asu.edu

 

James Blasingame,  English Education  (PhD)  (LL 218)
and by appointment  james.blasingame@asu.edu

 

Sally Ball, Creative Writing (MFA) (LL 302C)
Wednesday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
and by appointment: sally.ball@asu.edu

[MFA students are encouraged to contact Corey Campbell corey.campbell@asu.edu for practical advising matters, but Sally Ball also is available for appointments.]

 

Elly van Gelderen, Linguistics (PhD RCL (linguistics), MA linguistics, linguistics certificate)  (LL 226C)
Tuesday and Wednesday 1:00 - 3:00 pm
and by appointment ellyvangelderen@asu.edu

 

Claudia Sadowski-Smith, MA comparative literature advisor (LL 303B)
 email for an appointment:  claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu

 

Claire Renaud, MTESOL (LL 172J)
Tuesday 10:15 - 11:45 am and 1:30 - 2:30 pm
Thursday 10:30 - 11:45 am 
and by appointment claire.renaud@asu.edu

 

Doris Warriner, Rhetoric and Composition (PhD RCL (rhetoric/comp), MA rhetoric/comp) (LL 218)
Thursday 12:00 - 1:30 pm
and by appointment: doris.warriner@asu.edu

 

 

 Below are the presentations from the 2013 advising sessions: PhD and Master's:

AttachmentSize
phdsessionfall2013.ppt2.73 MB
ma session fall 2013.ppt4.19 MB