Graduate Advising

 

Graduate students should consult the relevant program directors for academic advising. Once a student has chosen a commitee chair, that faculty member becomes the student's chief source of advice.

Sheila Luna, Kira Assad and Jennifer Irish can answer most general questions and are a valuable source of information and advice. You may contact them first when you have an advising question.

If students are unable to see advisors during scheduled office hours, they may email for an appointment. Because of the diverse demands on these advisors, please attend any appointment you schedule. If you have to cancel, contact the advisor in advance.

Sheila Luna, program manager (MA, MAS, MTESOL, PhD)
LL 543B, (480) 965-3194
E-mail: sheila.luna@asu.edu

Jennifer Irish, program manager (MFA)
LL 172C, (480) 727-9130
Email: jennifer.irish@asu.edu

Kira Assad, program specialist (MA, MAS, MTESOL, PhD)
LL 542, (480) 965-7454
E-mail: kira.assad@asu.edu

 

Graduate Advisors -  Fall 2015

Ron Broglio, Director of Graduate Studies (LL 546D)
Office Hours: Monday 5-6 p.m.
Email ronald.broglio@asu.edu for an appointment.

 

Aaron Baker, MAS, American Media & Popular Culture (LL 645)
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2-3 p.m.
And by appointment aaron.baker@asu.edu

 

Cajsa Baldini, MA English Online (LL 342)
Current MA online students may email for an appointment cajsa.baldini@asu.edu

 

Dan Bivona, Literature (LL 224)
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3-4:30 p.m.
And by appointment daniel.bivona@asu.edu

 

Jessica Early, English Education (LL 218)
Office Hours: Friday 3-5 p.m.
And by appointment jessica.early@asu.edu

 

Mark James, MTESOL/Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (LL 547B)
Office Hours: Monday 2-4 p.m.; Wednesday 11 a.m.-1 p.m.
And by appointment Mark.A.James@asu.edu

 

Claudia Sadowski-Smith, MA Comparative Literature (LL 303B)
Email for appointment claudia.sadowski-smith@asu.edu

 

Keith Miller, Writing, Rhetorics and Literacies (LL 210C)
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3-4:30 p.m.; Tuesday and Thursday 3:30-5 p.m.
And by appointment keith.miller@asu.edu

 

Cynthia Hogue, Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing (LL 302C)
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 1-2 p.m.
And by appointment cynthia.hogue@asu.edu

 

Elly van Gelderen, Linguistics Certificate (LL 226C)
Email for appointment ellyvangelderen@asu.edu

 

Ron Broglio or Gregory Castle, Critcal Theory Certificate (LL 546D/LL 202A)
Email for appointment ronald.broglio@asu.edu or dedalus@asu.edu